IBC and Barrels

I drove over to Pink hill and met a Brent Kennedy of Cabin Creek barrels Monday. Very nice elderly gentleman who had the IBC and Barrels at very fair prices.  His IBCs are just about new only having been used one time. They held animal proteins the hog farmers use to supplement feed. They get them in used the product and throw them out, their waste my good fortune. He also had both 65 gal pickle barrels and blue 55 gal plastic barrels. I would have loved to gotten 2 of the blue and 2 of the pickle barrels along with the IBC but just could not fit then all in the truck. I mention how fair his prices were, $10 ea for the barrels and $65for the IBC in the cage and on the metal pallet. pretty good huh.

I got the IBC cut down yesterday, cut the bottom of the cage off at 8 inches and 8 inches off the top of the container. Will use the bottom of IBC in the top of the cage as the fish tank. I will use the bottom of the cage and the pallet with the top of the IBC as a raft system growing leafy vegetables like lettuce , boc choy, pac choy, and u choy.

Here the IBC has been cut and stacked so I could move it with a hand cart.

You can see the top ins in the bottom of the cage and above is the bottom of the IBC in the top of the cage.

I screwed up a little on the cut meant to cut at 8 inches but actually on one side drew the line at 6 so a little off but should not be that big a deal.

The Barrels all ready to go.

Today I got out and and finished getting the foundation in place. I have a buddy coming by in the morning that will help me put the frame on the foundation. Then we will get to remove the soil from the inside and start covering the brush in the Hugelkulturl.

I am enjoying a little alcohol and Percocets, after all the squatting placing those blocks today . I even found some Bio Freeze. So not doing to bad right now. Wait till to morrow evening lol.

One response to “IBC and Barrels

  1. Very jealous! I can’t wait until I have the room to do an IBC system.

Leave a Reply

