I Have A Aquaponics System!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well I finally have a working Aquaponics System not just a Gold Fish Pond . I got the gravel in and planted vegetables today.  Spent the morning helping with the Fayetteville Beautiful ‘s Electronics recycle , and Rain barrels, Compost Bin sale. We stayed till 1030 after getting there at 0730 to unload the Semi of the Rain Barrels and the Earth Machine Compost Bins.  I was pretty impressed with the bins I bought two of them for the back yard. That is my neighbors dog Jonah Photo-Bombing me…. LOL

We stopped by Lowe’s on the way to the little local lake. We picked up some peppers and radish , spinach , and lettuce seeds. Then on to the lake to get some water to help fill the void when I turned on the water to the flood tank. It really sucked a lot of water out of the pond. I let It cycle through several times and then at its fullest point in the cycle I added lake water to fill it up.

I did run tap water through the system (draining out into the yard not the pond)to clean the gravel . I ran it until the water ran clear. But it did still turn the water cloudy when we started the system and ran it back into the pond. I will let it run for a few days and see if it clears up, if not will try vacuuming the silt out.  one problem is when the bell siphons discharge the water back into the pond it churns up the silt so may have to take action to remedy that also.

These are the peppers I planted making it officially a Aquaponics System….Woo Woo. I have the radishes and the leaf lettuce blend in with the peppers. The Spinach and the Romaine Lettuce are in the end bin by they selves. As you will see my peppers in the garden to a hit and don’t look so good, so I decided to Start my Aquaponics( yes I just like typing that word LOL)  adventure with them.  The lettuce and radishes that are in with the peppers , I am hoping they will be up and wanting some relief from the sun when the peppers start really filling out. As for the spinach and the Romaine I have heard these do well in the systems. So for now we will see what happens. I have heard of some systems having a iron deficiency and to try to avoid this I have placed a nail under each of the spray bars. In household plants, I have used water with nails rusting in it as a spray when the plants were low on iron. Will see if this works.

See what I mean about the peppers.

Here are some of the garden as a up date.

9 responses to “I Have A Aquaponics System!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Congratulations! I really look forward to following your progress.

  2. Pingback: Flowery blurbs, volume 12. « Flowery Prose

  3. Neat! I can’t wait to see what you grow!

  4. Oh my gosh, this is so cool!!

Leave a Reply

