Wearing the Hat of Wheel Barrow Mechanic

After a trip to  Lowes this morning I got to work on the Wheel Barrow.  OK I have never bought Wheel Barrow handles be fore but I would have thought they would be sold as a set. But no … you buy each one separately…ok after thinking about it it does make sense.  Any way I got the two handles because the old ones that came with the barrow several years ago , were basically crap. I bought the wooden handles just for aesthetics , think they are ash or may be maple. What ever they look good, and were a lot sturdier than the originals.  I also picked some carrot and beets beet seeds, and some vincas and other ground cover to do my wife’s other Tipsy Planter.

When I got home I went to work, got he old handles off the Barrow and laid out the holes on the new handles. Really wish my Drill Press was accessible (long story) I believe I burned up a drill bit. But when I went to put it together everything fit back together, almost. The new handles were thicker than the the old ones. So all but the 4 bolts that mount the wheel fit fine. Those I had to rummage trough the box” of a little bit of everything “to fined acceptable replacement. I found three Lol but I did get one of the old ones to work. So there it was the barrow was up and running again. It lasted through two  fills….and the wheel broke around the axle. Man can you say shouldn’t have gotten out of bed this morning. Well that just left one thing to do ….and off we went to Harbor Freight, my wonderful  Bride drove me since I had to hit a couple of percocetes early today.

At Habor Freight we found the wheel , a new pair of work gloves, and the green House we are going to get. It is 10 X 12 feet, Think it will do nicely for the Aquaponics garden. They gave me a 25% off coupon to use on Easter Sunday. So I will pick it up then. And of course right where it will be set up is my soil garden that I just got planted. Will wait till fall to set it up .

Any way getting back to the wheel barrow  , sorry I tend to ramble when the drugs kick in.  Back at the house I got the wheel on the barrow, had to shorten the two spacers on the axles  to get it to fit but after that it was done and a fine looking barrow again.

And before I close for today just thought I show my Onion and celery plants, kind of a running record of their progress . 

This still amazes me, yes I am easily amazed. But this is pretty cool, you have to admit.

Ok that it for today hope it wasn’t to boring , with all my rambling.

Aloha and Mahalo

4 responses to “Wearing the Hat of Wheel Barrow Mechanic

  1. I have seen a few people use that greenhouse, that will be nice when you get it setup.

    • Decided to use part of income tax return for it. I think it will be great. Of course now I have a hole in the yard where I am putting the pond in to use until I get the green house and get the IBC tank. lol of course with what it will take to level the area for the green house to sit , I should have enough fill to fill it back in.

  2. I cant believe how fast the celery and onions are growing! I didnt even know you could do that. Ill have to give it a try! Thanks for the tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

